This is the "All Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Databases available through the MWSU Library on and off campus.
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.missouriwestern.edu/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

All Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Microfilm

 

Databases

A-Z List

The A-Z list will retrieve a list of journals that are either available in print or electronic format.  Completeness of coverage will vary for each title.

Off Campus Access

Most of the MWSU library electronic resources are available off campus through ezproxy authentication.
When logging into a database from off campus, you will first be prompted for your email address and password before linking to the database. 

Note: IIMP: Index to Music Periodicals is not available off campus.

 

 

SciFinder Scholar Registration Instructions

SciFinder Scholar is now available as a web product. You must create your individual username and password to access the web edition. Please go to the following URL to access the registration form:

https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=A87A8D40-86F3-50AB-309C-5B11B87DF243

 

Individual Databases - Alphabetic Listing

DISCOVER
Not sure which database to search? Try DISCOVER!
DISCOVER is a tool that searches across a multitude of databases simultaneously, including our library catalog, streaming videos, ebooks and more. View a Demo

Academic Search Complete
Subject: Multidisciplinary
Description: (From Vendor) Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

ACS Publications
Subject: Biology and Chemistry
Description: Contains the full text of the following ACS Journals from 1996 to Present: Accounts of Chemical Research, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biomacromolecules, Biotechnology Progress, Chemical Research in Toxicology, Chemical Reviews, Chemistry of Materials, Crystal Growth and Design, Energy and Fuels, Environmental Science and Technology, Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Research, Inorganic Chemistry, Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data, Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling, Journal of Combinatorial Chemistry, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of Natural Products, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Journal of Physical Chemistry, A,B,and C, Journal of Proteome Research, Journal of The American Chemical Society, Langmuir, Macromolecules, Nano Letters, Organic Letters, Organic Process Research and Development and Organometallics.

Advertising Age
ISBN: 00018999
Current Issues of Advertising Age. Also includes more indepth news through the Data Center.

Agricola
Subject: Biology and Chemistry
Description: (From Vendor) AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Air University Index to Military Periodicals
Subject: Military Science
Description: (From Vendor) The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.

America History & Life
Subject: History, Philosophy & Geography
Description: (From Vendor) America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954

BGMI: Biography & Geneaolgy Master Index (1 concurrent user)
Subject: General, History
(From Vendor) Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) is considered the best place to begin a search for information about people. It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Searching Biography and Genealogy Master Index will enable you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. In cases where BGMI provides multiple listings for the same person, you can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.

Biography Reference Center
(from EBSCO) Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others

Biological Abstracts
Subject: Biology and Chemistry
Description: (From Vendor) Biological Abstracts®, produced by BIOSIS, is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.

BioOne I
Subject: Biology, Chemistry
Description:(From Vendor) BioOne is an Internet-based collection of electronic journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Articles in BioOne are fulltext, and include all illustrations and links from the original printed articlesare published by scholarly societies, museums and other organizations, many of which are members of the American Institute for Biological Sciences.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.

Business and Company ASAP (Gale)
Subject: Business, Economics
Description (From Vendor) 1980 -
Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.

Business Insights: Essentials (Formerly: Business and Company Resource Center (Gale)
Subject: Business, Economics, Marketing
Description: (From Vendor) Business Insights: Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Source Complete
Subject: Business, Economics
Description: (From Vendor) Business Source Complete provides access to full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

CINAHL (4 concurrent users)
Basic TutorialAdvanced TutorialUsers Guide
Subject: Nursing & Health Information Technology
Description: (From Vendor) CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism, Communication Studies & Theatre
Description: (From Vendor) Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for more than 285 journals

Computers and Applied Sciences
Subject: Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, & Engineering Technology
Description: (From Vendor) Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,720 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 670 periodicals

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine

CQ Researcher (5 concurrent users)
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism, Communication Studies & Theatre, General
Description: (From Vendor) CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Criminal Justice Abstracts also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.

CultureGrams
CultureGrams™ is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Individual reports covering 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian Provinces, are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available,

Current Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search and view the full text of eBooks. Many are downloadable too.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.

Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

ERIC
Subject: Education; Health, Physical Education & Recreation; Government, Social Work & Sociology
Description: (From Vendor) ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.


Gale Discovery Collection
Subject: General, Reference Resources
Description: (From Vendor) Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements make it easy for students to research papers and class assignments in five core subject areas: history, literature, biography, science and social studies.

Gale Literary Index
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism; History, Philosophy & Geography
Description: (From Vendor) Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 155,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 207,000 titles into one source.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

GreenFILE
Subject: Engineering Technology, Biology, Chemistry
Description: (From Vendor) GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records

Historical Abstracts
Subject: History, Philosophy & Geography
Description: (From Vendor) Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts has long been recognized as the world's leading bibliographic database for historical study. Historical Abstracts currently covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide in over forty languages. The database comprises over 720,000 entries from periodicals, with full-text links to over 135,000 articles and dissertations

Humanities International Complete
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism; History, Philosophy & Geography; Government, Social Work & Sociology
Description: (From Vendor) Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for libraries looking to provide comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full text content.

IIMP: International Index to Music Periodicals (1 concurrent user)
On campus access only.
Subject: Music
Description: (From Vendor) International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) is the ultimate resource for music periodicals available on the web. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 430 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. The database currently includes over 530,000 records, the majority of which index the most recent eight years of publication. More than 200,000 records in IIMP are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. Some complete journal runs are included, which cover the first published issue right up to the most current

Issues & Controversies
Subject: General; Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism; Communication Studies & Theatre
Description: (From Vendor) Issues & Controversies @ FACTS.com presents and enhances the full back file of Issues & Controversies On File, which has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.

JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII
JSTOR Tutorials
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism; Biology and Chemistry; History, Philosophy & Geography; Government, Social Work & Sociology; Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, & Engineering Technology; Business, Economics and Psychology.

JSTOR: Life Sciences (Biology and Chemistry)
JSTOR Tutorials
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences.

JSTOR: Life Sciences (Health, Nursing, Biology)
JSTOR Tutorials
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences.

JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR Tutorials
JSTOR Plant Science strives to be a comprehensive online research tool for aggregating and exploring the world’s botanical resources, thereby dramatically improving access for students, scholars, and scientists around the globe. It is useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.

LOISLAWConnect
LOISLAW primary law national and states & LOISLAW Missouri Bar Assn publications for MALLCO law schools.

LearningExpress Library
Subject: General, Education
Note: Version 3 will replace version 2 on June 30, 2014. any tests, etc. saved in version 2 will not carry over. New logins must also be created.

Description: (From Vendor) Learning Express Library is designed to help people succeed on the tests they must pass to gain citizenship, improve their testing skills or to further their education or career. Over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL and basic skills for elementary, middle and high school skills improvement and much more. Test preparation materials span ages from elementary through adult. This testing resource also provides instant scoring and customized feedback. Learning Express

LearningExpress Library Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success
Includes easy-to-use learning centers —each provides the skills and strategies to find a job or enhance your career.
Use LearningExpress Library userid and password to login or create a new user profile.

LearningExpress Library Job and Career Accelerator
Powerful tools and expert guidance to help you find a great job.
Use LearningExpress Library userid and password to login or create a new user profile.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
Tutorials
Subject: General; Business, Criminal Justice, Legal, RCPI
Description: LexisNexis® Academic and Library Web services are tailored to meet the needs of researchers and students. Each service is designed to meet the needs of a specific group, and provides access to specially selected sources that may include CIS's flagship index and abstract access tools, online access to the full text of related government and non-government sources or access to comprehensive news, business, and legal information available on LexisNexis.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
ibrary, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Literature Resource Center (2 concurrent users)
Subject: English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism;Education;Communicataion Studies & Theatre
Description: (From Vendor) Content:• Contemporary Authors through the current volume, featuring biographies on more than 130,000 authors • Contemporary Authors New Revision Series through the current volume, featuring updated biographies on prominent contemporary authors • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, offering selected criticism through volume 241 of the print series • Dictionary of Literary Biography, all biographies through volume 336 of the print series • More than 49,000 full-text articles and excerpts from critical essays from various other Gale reference products.

MathSciNet
Subject: Biology and Chemistry; Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, & Engineering Technology
Description: (From Vendor) MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. Provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. Has signed reviews, powerful search functionality, and timely updates. Fosters the navigation of mathematics literature by providing links to original articles and other original documents, when available, and by encouraging links from journal article references to MathSciNet. Includes linked reference lists from selected journals. This list is being expanded. Offers World-wide access via multiple mirror sites. Offers free access to Featured Reviews, those reviews from the Mathematical Reviews database that were especially commissioned for some of the books and papers that are considered particularly important in the areas that they cover.

MAS Ultra – School Edition
This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags

MEDLINE
MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical citations on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Tests In Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series.

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags

MLA Bibliography
Subject: Art, English, Foreign Languages, & Journalism
Description: (From Vendor) MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text

Morningstar Investment Research Center
(1 Simultaneous User)
Morningstar® Investment Research Center offers public, corporate, and academic libraries a real-time turnkey solution for investment research.
Investment Research Center enables users to get data and guidance on mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.

NCJRS Abstracts (Criminal Justice)
Subject: Criminal Justice, Legal, RCPI
Description: (From Vendor) The NCJRS Web site provides access to one of the largest criminal justice libraries in the world. The Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 185,000 criminal justice publications. It provides abstracts or summaries, not full-text documents. Links to full-text publications are provided within the abstract when available.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

OCLC Articles First
Subject: General
Index Only
OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of over 16,000 journals

OCLC ECO
Subect: General
Index Only.
ccessible through the
Subject: General
(From vendor) FirstSearch interface, Electronic Collections Online provides a bibliographic index to articles in nearly 6,000 electronic journals. It includes titles from more than 40 publishers, on a wide range of subjects

OCLC Papers First: Conference Papers
Subject: General
Index Only
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

OCLC Proceedings: Conference Proceedings
Subject: General
Index Only
An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Opposing Viewpoints
Subject: General, English
Description: (From Vendor) Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a full-text resource covering today's social issues from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Opposing Viewpoints helps to develop critical thinking and information literacy skills by assisting students with researching, analyzing, and organizing various types of data for research assignments, persuasive essays, and debates.

Oxford Music Online (3 concurrent users)
Subject: Music
Description: (From Vendor) • Oxford Music Online includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition), the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition) plus specially-commissioned articles only available online. Additional resources inclue: The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Philosopher's Index (1 concurrent user)
Subject: History, Philosophy & Geography
Description: (From Vendor) Covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present. Indexes over 560 journals from more than 40 countries in 30 languages.

Points of View Reference Center
The Points of View Reference Center is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Primary Search
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for nearly 520 high-quality education journals

PsycArticles
Subject: Psychology, Social Work & Sociology
Description: (From Vendor)PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

PsycINFO
Subject: Psychology; Government, Social Work & Sociology
Description: (From Vendor) PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.

Pub Med
Subject: Nursing & Health Information Technology
Description: (From Vendor) PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Pub Med Central
Subject: Nursing & Health Information Technology
Description: (From Vendor) PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Regional Business News
Subject: Business, Economics
Description: (From Vendor) This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

SciFinder Scholar
SEE REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS IN BOX IN LEFT MARGIN.
Contact Terry Weaver (x4570) for registration questions.
Subject: Chemistry, Engineering, Nursing
Description: (From Vendor) SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows students and faculty to access research from many scientific disciplines, including chemistry, engineering and nursing. SciFinder Substructure Module (SSM) allos for substructure access to world's largest and most current chemical substance database.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Subject: Government, Social Work & Sociology; Criminal Justice, Legal, RCPI
Description: (From Vendor) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.

Sport Discus (1 concurrent user)
Health, Physical Education, & Recreation
Description: (From Vendor) Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Subject: Business and Economics
Description: (From Vendor)Standard & Poor's single source for S&P's investment Research. Includes access to Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, Company Profiles and Register of Corporations, Executives & Directors.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Teacher Reference Center: K-12 Teachers & Librarians
Subject: Education
Description: (From Vendor) This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Westlaw Campus
Users Guide
Subject: Criminal Justice, Legal, RCPIDescription: (From Vendor) Campus Research™ is a superior research service for news, business and lawrelated information – and it is designed especially to meet the needs of both librarians and students. Comprehensive: includes full-text information and access to both current and archived materials. ; thousands of news databases arranged geographically and topically; hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade and professional journals and publications ;superior law-related resources, including both primary law and analysis.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.

 

Reference Staff

Jim Mulder
Information Services Librarian

816-271-5802

 

Reference Staff

Jackie Burns
Distance Education and Interlibrary Loan Librarian

jburns@missouriwestern.edu
816-271-5803
 
Available most Library Hours
Please leave a message if unable to reach me.
4525 Downs Dr., St. Joseph, MO 64507  PH: 816-271-4200
Copyright | An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Contact Us | Feedback | Jobs | Accessibility Resources | Emergency Notification | MWSU Site
MWSU is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission, a member of the North Central Association of Colleges & Schools (NCA), and is an AQIP Participant.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip